ATP World Tour Awards 2012: Roger Federer could make it 10 in a row

With the the year-end No. 1 still up for grabs by Novak Djokovic and Roger Federer, the race to one of the top prizes in this year’s ATP World Tour Awards could go all the way to London in three weeks’ time.

The prestigious ATP World Tour No. 1 trophy is one of the 11 awards - the nominations for which have just been announced - that will be made during the World Tour Finals which take place at London’s O2 Arena between 5 and 12 November.

The favourite to become 2012’s player of the year for the second year in a row is Djokovic: He stands more than 2,000 points ahead of Federer with very few tournaments remaining. Indeed Federer faces the daunting task of winning the Basel 500 next week, the Paris Masters and then the World Tour Finals - with Djokovic performing poorly throughout. But then Federer did win those three titles last year: The race is still alive.

Both men are sure to be contenders for the Fans’ Favourite Award too. Last year they finished in the top two places in a category that is decided by the fans themselves. The popular Swiss took the 2011 honours, his ninth straight win, and could well make it No. 10.

Federer is also in line for one of the most sought-after accolades, the Stefan Edberg Sportsmanship Award. The winner is selected by fellow players, and has also been dominated in the past by the Swiss. His win last year was his seventh - he was his colleagues’ choice from 2004 to 2009 as well - and he is one of the four nominees for 2012.

Federer is not the only one hoping to be a repeat winner this year. Americans Bob and Mike Bryan are clear of the field in the race to claim the ATP World Tour No. 1 Doubles Team Award. It would be their fourth in the row, their seventh in the last eight years. They must surely be in contention to take the Fans’ Favourite Award in the doubles category, too: They have won it for the last six years.

Categories and nominees:

ATP World Tour No. 1:
The player who ends the year as World No. 1 in the South African Airways ATP Rankings.

ATP World Tour No. 1 Doubles Team:
The team that ends the year as World No. 1 in the ATP Doubles Team Rankings Race To London. 

Stefan Edberg Sportsmanship Award (Voted by Players):
The player who, throughout the year, conducted himself at the highest level of professionalism and integrity, who competed with his fellow players with the utmost spirit of fairness and who promoted the game through his off-court activities.

Marin Cilic
Juan Martin del Potro
Roger Federer
David Ferrer

Most Improved Player of the Year:

The player who reached a significantly higher ranking by year's end and who demonstrated an increasingly improved level of performance through the year.

Nominees (Year-end 2011 Ranking and 8 Oct, 2012 Ranking):
Jeremy Chardy (103-31)
Marinko Matosevic (203-58)
Juan Monaco (26-10)
Go Soeda (120-55)

New Comer of the Year:
The player who, based on his ranking move in 2012, has made the biggest impact on the ATP World Tour.

Nominees (Year-end 2011 Ranking and 8 Oct, 2012 Ranking):
David Goffin (174-48)
Jerzy Janowicz (221-80)
Martin Klizan (117-34)
Andrey Kuznetsov (222-72)

Comeback Player of the Year:
The player who has overcome serious injury in re-establishing himself as one of the top players on the ATP World Tour.

Nominees (Year-end 2011 Ranking and 8 Oct, 2012 Ranking):
Brian Baker (456-62)
Tommy Haas (205-21)
Paul Henri Mathieu (Unr-102)
Sam Querrey (93-26)

Tournaments of the Year:
The tournament in its category that operated at the highest level of professionalism and integrity and which provided the best conditions and atmosphere for participating players.

ATP World Tour Masters 1000
ATP World Tour 500
ATP World Tour 250

Note: Tournament awards will not be announced before the Barclays ATP World Tour Finals

Chosen by ATP:

Arthur Ashe Humanitarian Award:
The person who has made outstanding humanitarian contributions. Previous winners include James Blake, Roger Federer, Carlos Moya, former South African President Nelson Mandela and Arthur Ashe.

Ron Bookman Media Excellence Award:
The journalist who has made significant contributions to the game of tennis.

Date: 18th October 2012, Source: ATP and The Sport Review


Post a Comment