Federer to play IPTL in Dubai, Singapore and New Delhi

Roger Federer, world number three and UAE Royals team member, has confirmed that he will compete in at least three of the five stops during the second edition of the International Premier Tennis League (IPTL).

Federer has confirmed that he will play in the Dubai, Singapore and New Delhi stops for the Dubai-based UAE Royals.

Federer joins fellow Marin Cilic, Tomas Berdych, Ana Ivanovic, Kristina Mladenovic, Daniel Nestor and Goran Ivanisevic in the UAE Royals camp. They will compete against four other teams that comprise of the world’s best tennis players. IPTL 2 is scheduled to get under way in Japan from December 2.

Federer will turn up for the UAE Royals in India on December 12, in Dubai on December 15 and 16 and in Singapore on December 18.

“I am extremely pleased to be playing for the UAE Royals in Dubai, New Delhi and Singapore,” he said. “The atmosphere created by fans in these cities is both warm and electrifying, adding another level of motivation for me personally when I compete against the best in the world at these venues.”

Neelesh Bhatnagar, co-owner, UAE Royals, said he was thrilled that Federer had decided to play at three venues.

“Roger is one of the most talented and respected athletes in the world and we are exceptionally pleased to have him play for the UAE Royals. Having him on the team will certainly improve our chances of winning the second IPTL championship,” Bhatnagar said.

IPTL 2015 Schedule


December 2 - Japan Warriors v UAE Royals; Indian Aces v Singapore Slammers
December 3 - Japan Warriors v Singapore Slammers; Philippine Mavericks v UAE Royals
December 4 - Japan Warriors v Indian Aces; Philippine Mavericks v Singapore Slammers


December 6 - Philippine Mavericks v UAE Royals; Singapore Slammers v Japan Warriors
December 7 - Philippine Mavericks v Japan Warriors; Indian Aces v UAE Royals
December 8 - Philippine Mavericks v Indian Aces; UAE Royals v Singapore Slammers

New Delhi

December 10 - Indian Aces v Singapore Slammers; Japan Warriors v UAE Royals
December 11 - Indian Aces v Japan Warriors; Singapore Slammers v Philippine Mavericks
December 12 - Indian Aces v UAE Royals; Japan Warriors v Philippine Mavericks


December 14 - UAE Royals v Philippine Mavericks; Indian Aces v Japan Warriors
December 15 - UAE Royals v Singapore Slammers; Philippine Mavericks v Indian Aces
December 16 - UAE Royals v Japan Warriors; Singapore Slammers v Indian Aces


December 18 - Singapore Slammers v Philippine Mavericks; UAE Royals v Indian Aces
December 19 - Singapore Slammers v UAE Royals; Philippine Mavericks v Japan Warriors

December 20 - Final

Date: 21st October 2015, Source: Gulf News


Post a Comment